Centre forms cabinet committees, BJP allies get more representation

Centre forms cabinet committees, BJP allies get more representation

The Narendra Modi-led central government on Wednesday formed several cabinet committees in which the BJP’s NDA allies have been the most represented since 2014.

The members of the cabinet committees included ministers from the BJP and its NDA partners such as Janata Dal (U), Telugu Desam Party, Janata Dal (S), Shiv Sena and Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas).

The allies’ representation was a reflection of the NDA’s poll performance in the Lok Sabha elections, where the BJP failed to win a majority of 272 seats on its own.

According to an official release, the Cabinet Committee on Security comprises Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar.

Besides Prime Minister Modi, the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs comprises Rajnath Singh, Shah, Sitharaman, Jaishankar, Minister of Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari, Minister of Agriculture Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Minister of Heavy Industries and Steel HD Kumaraswamy.

Other members of the committee include Commerce Minister Piyush Goyal, Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and Minister for Panchayati Raj and Fisheries Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh.

The Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs comprises Modi, Rajnath Singh, Shah, Gadkari, Sitharaman, Goyal, Health Minister JP Nadda, Civil Aviation Minister Kinjarapu Ram Mohan Naidu, Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi, Ports and Shipping Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Environment Minister Bhupender Yadav, Women and Child Development Minister Annpurna Devi, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju and Coal Minister G Kishan Reddy.

The Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs comprises Rajnath Singh, Shah, Nadda, Sitharaman, Rajiv Ranjan Singh, Naidu, Rijiju, Minister for Social Justice Virendra Kumar, Minister for Tribal Affairs Jual Oram and Minister for Jal Shakti CR Patil.

The special invitees to the committee are Minister of State for Law (Independent) Arjun Ram Meghwal and Minister of State for Law L Murugan.

As in previous years, the Cabinet Appointments Committee consists of only two members: Modi and Shah.

The Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth comprises Prime Minister Modi, Rajnath Singh, Shah, Gadkari, Sitharaman, Goyal, Consumer Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi, Textiles Minister Giriraj Singh, Railways Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, Communications Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Hardeep Singh Puri and Food Processing Industries Minister Chirag Paswan.

Special invitees to the committee include Minister of State for Statistics Rao Inderjit Singh and Minister for Aayush Prataprao Jadhav.

The Cabinet Committee on Accommodation comprises Shah, Gadkari, Sitharaman, Goyal and Housing and Urban Affairs Minister Manohar Lal.

Minister of State for Personnel and PMO Jitendra Singh is a special invitee to the committee.

The Cabinet Committee on Skills, Employment and Livelihood comprises the Prime Minister, Rajnath Singh, Shah, Gadkari, Sitharaman, Vaishnaw, Pradhan, Yadav, Puri, Culture Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat and Labour Minister Mansukh Mandaviya.

Jayant Choudhary, Minister of State for Skill Development, is the special invitee.

Published by:

Rishabh Sharma

Published on:

July 3, 2024